Carwinion Road, Mawnan
30 yards from Goldmartin Square
Situated in the village of Mawnan
Smith, close to the Trenah and Glendurgan gardens and 5 minutes away from
the Helford River. 'The Old Smithy' is a historic forge which has been a
very active part of the community, with records dating as far back as 1842
beginning with Sampson Pascoe who was succeeded a few years later by Marmaduke
In 1851 there were four working smithies
serving nineteen farms in the parish but fifty years later only one remained.
For over a hundred years the forge, operated by blacksmith Billy James and
followed by his son Dryden, was the centre of village life until, on Dryden's
death in 1994, the smithy doors were closed and the building and its contents
went into hibernation.
Through the formation of the Mawnan
Anvil Trust, 'The Old Smithy' was purchased for the village of Mawnan Smith
on October 19th 2006 after four years of fund raising and red tape.
All the usable and reclaimable tools
had their positions logged and were stored in ammunition boxes. Usable equipment,
fittings and cabinets were removed for careful storage. The Trustees and
willing helpers battled through decades of accumulated dirt and grime to
expose the bare bones of the building for restoration.
Along with the forge, 3 workshops
were added to the site during the renovation project which allows visitors
the opportunity to watch the skilled blacksmith and craft workers or to
browse their unique and traditional products.